These are the images I have taken for our induction project. I tried to do things I had not done before, step outside my comfort zone and consider how to show both the style of the photographer and my own thoughts in the image. I felt a little rushed in this project but overall I think I succeeded in producing appropriate images for the artists and quotes.

Robert Frank Response

‘I have been frequently accused of deliberately twisting subject matter to my point of view. Above all, I know that life for a photographer cannot be a matter of indifference. Opinion often consists of a kind of criticism. But criticism can come out of love. It is important to see what is invisible to others. Perhaps the look of hope or the look of sadness. Also, it is always the instantaneous reaction to oneself that produces a photograph.’

What do you assume about this person?

Phillipe Halsman Response

‘The immortal photographers will be straight forward photographers, those who do not rely on tricks or special techniques.’

Portrait of someone unknown

Paul Caponigro Response

‘It’s one thing to make a picture of what a person looks like, it’s another thing to make a portrait of who they are.’

Coventry Cathedral

Minor White Response

‘Let the subject generate it’s own photographs. Become a camera.’

‘Unattractive’, unknown texture.

Jan Groover Response

‘You have to follow your nose … to have a mental attitude about what you feel good about and yearn for in a picture. Being able to say ‘I like it’ or ‘I don’t like it’. That’s first.’

The mundane nature of writing.

Elliot Erwitt Response

‘I wasn’t imposing my presence on anyone, .. which is very important for a would – be journalist. I stayed back. Always let people be themselves.’

Walking to Wherever

Edward Weston Response

‘I would say to any artist: ‘Don’t be repressed in your work, dare to experiment, consider any urge, if in a new direction all the better.’

Texture of a simple thing

Duane Michals Response

‘Trust that little voice in your head that says ‘wouldn’t it be interesting if …’ And then do it.’

Man walking along the street.

August Sander Response

‘I hate nothing more that sugary photographs with tricks, poses and effects. So allow me to be honest? And tell the truth about our age and it’s people.’

August Sander Response

Man Simply Sitting

Jeurgen Teller Response

‘Jeurgen has a very strong individual voice,’ Lang says, ‘which is a rather rare accomplishment these days. i love the ability to say out loud what other people are afraid to even think.’ Teller became the documentation of Lang’s designs: ‘It was natural to have him express the soul of my work.’

Is nature really irreplaceable?

