This task was a very interesting experience for me, so early on in my degree. I felt, to get proper responses to the photographers, I had to do things I didn’t feel comfortable with and had never done before. This included taking photographs of strangers without them noticing and going directly up to strangers and asking them for photos.

My favourite photo is definitely my Robert Frank photographic response. I had to go up to someone and specifically ask them for a photo. I had never done this before, and was quite frankly terrified. However, I got the image, and I feel it is a provocative one. I wanted to question how we immediately judge somebody based on their looks and appearance. This woman was homeless, and the marks on her skin make her look unwell. Many people I spoke to thought it looked like she was on drugs. I have to agree with them, but that doesn’t in any way make it true. We have no idea what has happened to her and the troubles she has experienced.

I would like to think this photo succeeds in making people question why they make these assumptions. It certainly made me question it, but then again I understand my thought process behind the image.

My least favourite photographic response was my Jan Groover response. It just appears so boring and lifeless to me. It looks like an angsty teenagers Instagram photo instead of anything thought provoking or interesting. The isn’t necessarily a bad thing however. The quote from Jan Groover we were given was, ‘You have to follow your nose … to have a mental attitude about what you feel good about and yearn for in a picture. Being able to say ‘I like it’ or ‘I don’t like it’. That’s first.’.

The fact I can be so critical of my own work and admit my distaste for it I feel is a positive reflection on how this project has made me consider my own work through looking at the work of others.

Overall I am happy with my New Topographics Task. I think it went well considering it was one of the first things I did at the beginning of the year, and has laid good foundations for my critical reflection of others, and my own, work.

I think, if I was to do it again, I would look at different artists, who were vastly different from anything I had tried before. This project made me try things I hadn’t tried before, and I feel that is why I found it so challenging and helpful. Their would be a point to me revisiting the same artists, to see how I had improved tackling the same concepts and tasks, but at the same time, learning and developing involved trying things you had never considered doing before. And that is ultimately what I am here to do.

