I feel my understanding of light has certainly improved over the course of this module. Especially when it comes to studio lighting.

Before this module, I has never used studio lighting before. And, quite frankly, the notion of it terrified me. Having used it in a number of different scenarios now, I feel it is an fantastic tool when it comes to lighting photographs.

Using the equipment has helped me understand how light can be used in photographs, and how you can combine natural and studio lights to create dramatic images. Before this module I relied solely on natural light for my photographs, and would just have to work around any problems I encountered (by moving the shot or editing in photoshop) because of this. Now, I can create a photograph with near perfect lighting before post production.

Using the pinhole cameras has also taught me a lot about light and how it can be used in photography. Because it takes the photograph back to the very basics, you have to work with the light you have and use your knowledge of the light to work out exposure times. I learnt through this module that photographic paper is sensitive to uv light rather than just all light sources, so you have to expose it for an incredibly long time indoors, even if it is well lit, as bulbs don’t give off much uv light. The same applies to night photography, as there is a minuscule amount of uv light, you have to expose the paper all night to get an image.

I believe I still need to work on my knowledge of combining natural and studio lights outside, as I understand the basics, but more complicated lighting techniques still confuse me.

However, I have become quite competent in the studio with lighting, and look forward to using it again for further projects.

