Over the course of my volunteering I have obtained so many new skills and gained massive amount of confidence. Looking back over my SWOT analysis, my anxiety disorder caused no problems whatsoever which I am incredibly relieved about. I handled any task or situation I was given well and didn’t panic under pressure. I feel so much more confident about the prospect of becoming a teacher based on this volunteering, as it has let me face my fears and supposed weaknesses and overcome them/ realise they were not something I had to be concerned about.

My confidence has improved drastically over the course of this volunteering. I was willing to get involved and be active and engaging in the kids without feeling self conscious. I think the ability to do this would also be a skill I have gained through my time volunteering at both schools.

Another skill I have gained is leadership. I feel, after working with such a large amount of children of varying ages and abilities, that being a team leader no longer feels intimidating. I can put myself forward and take control of a situation if the need arises.

I have also gained a level of delegation skills through this module. A lot of my time volunteering involved juggling how much to help a child with their work, with encouraging them to do it alone without the need for dependancy. You need to be able to give them tasks which are well planned and informative and push them to do work independently.  Sometimes their is the urge when a child is struggling to give them to much help, which could be detrimental to their learning as they are not doing it themselves. I especially had to put this skill to use while my Year 10 class were doing mock exams and we were not allowed to explain anything to them. It is difficult to do when you have spent so long assisting them, especially when they are low ability.

Communication and preparation skills were another large aspect of my volunteering. I would discuss with the teachers before each lesson what we were doing and planning where I would be situated in the class to be the most help. This also took a lot of willingness on my part to communicate where I thought I would be put and what I could be doing during the lesson. My communicating with the teachers additionally included being confident enough to be forward about asking questions about their professions to gain the most realistic and honest opinions of what being a teacher is like.

The PGCE course I wish to enter after my third year at Coventry university asks that you have a minimum of two weeks experience in your chosen age range. I have achieved that comfortably, so hopefully as I continue to volunteer (which I intend to do independently) I will put myself in a strong position for entering my chosen PGCE degree.

Possibly the best thing this module as given me, is a solid decision as to what age range I wish to teach.

I have decided to become a Primary school teacher, rather than a secondary school one.

Their was a lot of satisfaction working in the secondary school, but I felt that I was better suited for the primary school environment. I connected with the kids easier and it was a relief to not be knowingly walking into a battle against the kids every day I went to school (as I felt with volunteering at the secondary school). I have always wanted to get into teaching out of an urge to help kids and be a source of stability and support to them while teaching them. Being able to work with kids of a younger age makes me feel like I can help more because I have more time to get to know one class of children instead of having to memorise the names of hundreds of different students that you will teach in a secondary school. It also feels like you can have a more profound impact on a child’s development when they are still in primary instead of having to try and work with however they come to you in secondary.

Their are difficulties with both primary and secondary teaching, but I feel more capable coping with the Primary school stresses than I do with the latter.

