Having worked on a few of the weekly tasks, I think it is fair to say that my Spoken Narrative has been the strongest piece I have created, and I would like to carry this further through PHONAR (and perhaps even to Final Exhibition?).

I want to create something visual with a Narrative that documents what I spoke about in the task. I have discussed with Jonathan different ideas, and have considered how taking something so personal forward can relate to the interviews we have listened to during our lessons.

  • Fred Ritchin’s comments that the narrative you create is more important than taking the photograph makes me believe that it is more important for me to create an interesting narrative that informs people and makes them interested in the subject that worrying that the photographs are the most aesthetically amazing photographs I have ever created.
  • I can work on this project for my final exhibition, for now perfecting the narrative is more important to me.
  • Ritchin and Bleasdale seem to share similar opinions to the importance of narrative over the photograph.
  • Campbell talks about how narrative creates coherence and order in a world where that doesn’t naturally exist. We are desperate to understand and fit what we see into how the world works.
  • If I apply this to my work, creating a narrative that informs people on something that is not physically easy to represent is what is important here. If I keep the timeline I created in my Spoken Narrative and apply it to my photography, I can hopefully take viewers on a journey through the narrative that creates understanding on both an emotional level that helps me, and informs about the larger societal issues this situation is related to.
  • I want to include words in my work to give myself a level of control of how the viewer interprets the narrative. As the subject I lose a level of control by opening it up to the public eye, but I can regain some of that control by using different mediums.
  • This is something else that applies to Bleasdale and Davidmann’s interview along with Campbell’s talk.

 

Current Ideas

When we were asked to listen to Jill Jarman’s and Laura Ritchie’s Chello piece, I instantly thought I could create something with it.

http://phonar.org/2014/11/a-post-photographic-portrait/

The combination of sharp and soft chords makes me consider how I could develop a narrative using photographs, words and sounds. 

Softer notes draw people into a relaxed state, while sharp chords can be jarring and uncomfortable and make people focus.

If I applied this to a narrative, I could create something that drew people into a false sense of security, then add a level of understanding that makes them realise that the aesthetics are not the important thing here, the meaning behind it is.

I originally had the idea to create a video to the music, with self portraits showing pressure on my skin, with flashes of objects that reminded me of the moments in the moments I spoke about in my Spoken Narrative piece. However, after discussions with lecturers and peers, I decided that I didn’t have to ‘give them all the answers’, and could create something far calmer with instead a narrative undertone that draws the viewer in.

Working off the idea of having objects that relate to moments in the timeline, I thought of the idea of taking attractive, bright photographs of these objects, to make the viewer look at them and merely appreciate the aesthetic quality of the photographs. Then, towards the end of the piece (I still want this to be a video of sorts, with the music over the top) I would add in the words, to add my voice to the pictures, to explain what this relates to. I want to change the music at this point to the harsher cello sounds, though that is open for experimentations.

I am considering what words to have. I have a few options:

  1. Words from my spoken narrative, next to the image that relates to them
  2. Words that describe how these images relate to the moments and situations
  3. Statistics of sexual assault/ rape.
  4. A mixture.

A mixture of the Spoken Narrative and Statistics is appealing to me currently, as it gives me a voice about what I went through, while also adding a much needed voice to the wider reaching implications of my experience. I think that combination would be the most effective in potentially reaching out to other victims as well, and giving them a voice through this work.
I can’t claim to be the best person to be a voice for others in this situation however, hopefully, if I speak, others might have the courage to speak as well, or they might at least not feel alone with something that can completely cripple you, make you believe you are along, and make you feel like you don’t deserve a voice.

Phonar Ideas

