Here is my video for the Post Photographic Portrait task, mixing music, words and photos to create a Narrative to engage viewers and hopefully give them an insight into an aspect of being a victim of rape.

Sara Davidmann discussed in her interview using a combination of words written by the participants and photos to create a strong narrative. I used this idea to convey what I wanted to voice.

There was also inspiration from photographer Paul Gaffney and his work ‘We make the path by walking’. During a talk last Tuesday he discussed how he wanted there to be no information to the images at first, to let people create there own interpretations. Then, towards the end, he added a simple poem to give what level of context he wanted.

I couldn’t give up control over the narrative of this piece, I wanted control over how people perceived it and what they felt. It’s difficult to relinquish control and I still feel vulnerable even now having posted it. It’s something I think is necessary to feel if you as a photographer expect others to do so for you. Empathy is a powerful tool in this world.

I wanted it to convey that objects that appear unimportant to someone can have significant meaning to another, and try to translate that into a viewable experience. I am not entirely sure if this has been wholly effective in that regard.

I am happy with the images, and my personal words from the Spoken Narrative task are still incredibly important to me and convey a lot of things I have never before spoken about openly. I am also happy with my cut up of the music to convey the change in tone throughout the piece.

However, I don’t know if I perhaps gave to much information to the audience by placing the words next to the photographs. Also, I am concerned the music makes this seem childish, though I am confused as to what I could of done differently to change this for me.

This was not intended as a completely polished piece of work, and the chance to experiment has given me a better idea for how to possibly continue with this narrative in the future. I think it would work better as a book than as a video, but the opportunity to work in collaboration with somebody else’s creation was not an opportunity I wanted to miss.
If I could change one thing about this work, I would of added to the range of photographs. There are a number of other objects I could still capture for this, and I will definitely track them down to continue this work. It would of made for a more interesting narrative for more objects and images, it would of also meant there was less of a reliance on words to shape the narrative I want.
I focused on my own personal narrative for this piece, but I do believe that it would of possibly been more effective, and placed my work in a more understandable frame of reference for the viewer, to have included statistics on sexual assaults. This is definitely something to consider and work on if I take this forward.

I think I have succeeded in giving myself as the subject a voice, but I don’t think I have succeeded in creating something with as much impact as I would like. It feels confusing in a way I don’t like, but that is possibly just down to my own personal attachment to the piece and the difficulty in conveying emotions that are incredibly complex and span nearly seven years of my life.

