Phonar started out as an opportunity for me to experiment with new media and narrative in a well documented space with useful feedback. I created my Sensory Mashup piece on a whim, to experiment with a different creative method and a new way to articulate a story and concept outside of my comfort zone of photography. https://emmasheaphotography.wordpress.com/2014/10/08/phonar-my-sensory-mashup/
I received a lot of positive feedback regarding the experimentation which kickstarted my confidence and desire to push myself further.
The Spoken Narrative task, half way through the module, was not something I expected to have such a drastic impact on me and my work. My decision was based on the, as previously mentioned, desire to experiment with the narrative forms, and research based on different ways to produce, display and interpret information. My research of word poems had a large affect on how my Spoken Narrative took shape, based on what I felt was effective in their delivery and combining those aspects with what I felt comfortable creating.
I pushed myself further than I ever had before with this, but the feedback I got and the way it has shaped my work, and confidence on a whole, has made that vulnerability and fear entirely worth it, and extremely liberating.
Sara Davidmann’s interview has largely affected my thought processes and development of work. I was inspired and moved by her projects, and have so much respect for how she works with the participants in her photography.
Her interview and the others we listened to made me critically analyse why I felt my work was important, how it impacted and affected others and what it meant for me to use it as a platform for my voice and potentially the voice of others.
The final piece I have created for Phonar has involved a lot of critical analysis of my ideas and my technical development throughout. I have analysed what I felt was effective and what I think failed. Doing so has made me confident that even if this work is not 100% what I want it to be right now, I have the ability and it has the potential to become something with the impact I want it to have. I also feel that any technical failings I have made in this work are less of a concern to me than the narrative I have created, and the fact I have given myself a platform and voice I never had before. Bleasdale said that what you put behind and in the photograph is primary, and the photograph is secondary, and for me personally that truly does apply here.
https://emmasheaphotography.wordpress.com/2014/12/02/post-photographic-portrait-video/

Overall, I am proud of what I have achieved during my Phonar module. I adore my Sensory Mash-up and Spoken Narrative tasks, as evidence of my ability to work with multiple different medias, on a range of subjects, to create something engaging.

If I could I would add more photographs to my Post Photographic Portrait creation, and I would include relevant statistics to create a more far reaching narrative with better context for the audience. With this in mind, I have the option to take this work forward to Final Exhibition, so that could be the perfect opportunity to critically analyse what worked and what didn’t to create something truly effective by the end of my final year.

